6 Normans named to national NSPA Journalism Honor Roll


MINNEAPOLIS — National Scholastic Press Association, the nation’s largest association for high school, junior high and middle school journalists, has inducted approximately 1,300 high-school scholars and student journalists into its 2020 Journalism Honor Roll.

Locally, the following six students from Beverly Hills High School were honored:
Hogan Behrstock, Watchtower
Catherine Gagulashvili, Highlights
Alya Mehrtash, Highlights
Michael Rabizadeh, Watchtower
Ava Seccuro, Highlights
Aasha Sendhil, Watchtower

“These outstanding students excel in both the classroom and in their school newsrooms,” associate director Gary Lundgren said. “The future of journalism is bright if these students are any indication.”

In addition to serving for at least two years on a student media staff, in broadcast, newspaper, magazine, online or yearbook, the students have earned a 3.5 or higher grade-point average on a 4.0 scale.

“I’m always proud to submit the names of our hardworking students for this honor from the NSPA,” adviser Gaby Doyle said. “I’m so excited that Hogan, Catherine and Ava will also be receiving special honor cords to wear with their cap and gown.”

Senior inductees are eligible to compete for a $1,000 scholarship, and NSPA will announce the scholarship winner in May.

All Honor Roll inductees will receive a certificate of recognition and will be listed in the association’s Best of the High School Press, a yearly publication showcasing the winners in the association’s student media competitions. Inductees are also eligible to wear a special honor cord at graduation.

Through education, training and recognition programs, NSPA promotes the standards and ethics of good journalism. Its educational programs, both on-site and virtual, train thousands of student journalists and advisers, and its awards programs include the Pacemaker Award, the nation’s preeminent publication honor. It celebrates 100 years of service in 2021.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.